McMaster University Retirees Association NOTICE OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING AND LUNCHEON

Date: Wednesday, May 25, 2011 Time: 12:00 noon - 2:30PM Place: Celebration Hall

(Basement of Kenneth Taylor Hall)

McMaster University

RSVP is required by May 13, 2011 to establish numbers for the lunch. Contact Pam Penny at penny@mcmaster.ca or phone 905-627-0463.

Luncheon

A light sandwich luncheon will be served while you socialize with friends.

Special Presentation to the AGM Hamilton's Architectural Heritage as Influenced by its Geography, History and Culture by Walter Peace



Dr. Peace, a native Hamiltonian and McMaster graduate, knows the city very well. He is past chair of the Hamilton Historical Board and has been a member of the Bay Restoration Council. His research interests include urban geographical landscape studies, the geography of architecture, and Hamilton's

history. Recently, he was awarded the Service to Ontario Geography Award from the Canadian Association of Geographers.

Walter is a stimulating teacher, writer and editor. In 2009 he received the McMaster University President's Award for Teaching Excellence. He edited the book From Mountain to Lake: The Red Hill Creek Valley, which was published in 1998. Walter has been a major player in introducing visiting campus groups to the rich heritage of the University, and to the City in which it operates and to which it contributes.

Business Meeting

Including reports of Officers and Council Elections

Need a ride? If you live in the Hamilton area and would like to attend but don't have transportation, we'll pick you up and take you home.

Need help getting to Celebration Hall from the bus stop? Contact Kathy or Helen with your request by Sunday May 22nd.

Kathy Overholt 905-521-0303 overhol@mcmaster.ca Helen Barton 905-528-8951 barton@mcmaster.ca

2011 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT MURA Council 2011/2012

Honorary President* Arthur Bourns

Executive

Past President (ex officio): Helen Barton President (Nominated): Joe Laposa

(One year term, to 2012)

Vice President (Nominated): Marianne Walters

(One year term, to 2012)

Treasurer*: Beth Csordas Secretary*: Wayne Rouse

Councillors

Nominated for office until 2014:

Kathy Heywood Janice Rischke Harold Siroonian

Continuing in office until 2013:

Helen Dietsche Alan Fraser Mary Johnston Shari Mercer

Continuing in office until 2012:

Kathy Overholt Pamela Penny

Auditor:* Bob West *appointed



In accordance with Article 8.01 Section 3 of the MURA Constitution: "Further nominations for the nominated positions will be received by the Secretary of the Association up to seven (7) days prior to the date set for the annual general meeting from nominators who are regular members of the Association together with the verbal or written acceptance of the nominee. Nominations will also be received from regular members at the annual general meeting."

Nominating Committee:

Helen Barton (Chair) Linda Grocott Jim Kramer Kathy Overholt Pam Penny

COMPLIMENTARY PARKING FOR THE AGM MURA thanks Parking Services for this generous support

Retirees will have access to Parking Lots C, D and E, all close to Kenneth Taylor Hall. Come on campus <u>via</u> the Sterling Street entrance. Lot G - the underground Stadium lot - may also be used if the lots closer to KTH are full.

(continued on page 4)